Flower Brooch Tutorial

Image

Image

Last month I was browsing Google looking for a tutorial about putting together a flower brooch. I didn’t find any pattern that I wanted to use, but I got plenty of ideas. So I put them all together and made a flower brooch that I was satisfied with. Now I want to share with you all how I did it!

You will need:

  • Your crocheted or knitted flower
  • A matching felt circle a little smaller than the flower
  • Extra matching felt
  • Matching embroidery thread
  • A needle
  • Scissors
  • Clips (I found that large clips work best because they support the flower. Just about any craft store will carry them.)
  • Glue Gun (You may need an extra glue stick)

Plug in your glue gun. While it is heating up, cut out two rectangles to glue onto the inside bottom portion of the clips.

Once you have glued the felt on, you can trim it to fit the clips.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Take your circle of felt and apply hot glue to it. (Leave a ring around the outside edge so you can sew the felt on.)

Put the felt on the back of the flower.

Image

Then thread your needle with three strands of embroidery thread, and coming in from between the flower and felt (so your knot does not show,) start sewing.

Image

Image

Image

After you have sewn the felt to the flower, you can take the clips and glue them onto the back. I found that if you put the clips closer to the outside edge they keep the flower from falling forward when you wear it.

Image

Six uses for flower brooches:

~ Clip it on a scarf

~ Instead of putting clips on, put magnets on and put it on your refrigerator to add some fresh color.

~ Clip onto your purse or bag.

~ If it is not too big use it in your hair.

~ Clip onto baskets (I put this flower on my white basket that I use for schoolwork, and it adds the perfect pink color!)

~ If you are brave enough, put it on your dog’s collar. It would look really cute, even if it is on just long enough to get a snapshot! I didn’t do it because our dog is boy, and he would probably eat it.

I hope you enjoyed making this brooch, and have fun with it!

                                                      Thank you for visiting A Homespun Country Life!

~Elisabeth

One thought on “Flower Brooch Tutorial

Leave a Reply

