Caramel Swirl Marshmallows

Several months ago, I decided to learn how to make marshmallows. I found a book called Marshmallow Madness at the library, and I got started! My first pan of the sweet, fluffy treat was vanilla-flavored, and they were absolutely delicious! Then I started trying the other recipes in the book: mini marshmallows, chocolate, and peanut butter. Using the suggestions in the book, I made one batch with cherry candy oil and one with peppermint extract. My very favorite of all the recipes that I tried in this book was the sea salt caramel swirl variation. These are sooo good! My favorite ways to eat them are in hot cocoa and just for eating fresh.

Image

They are made of the classic vanilla marshmallow batter, with a ribbon of salty-sweet caramel marshmallow batter running through it.Image

Image

I would love to share the recipe, but I don’t think that would be fair to the creator of the recipe, Shauna Sever. However, I highly encourage you to check out her book and her blog. And no, she isn’t paying me anything to say that! 🙂

Have you ever made marshmallows? Maybe you have been wanting to, but haven’t worked up the courage to. Well, let me tell you: if I can do it, then surely you can! I am by no means a master chef!!  🙂  I would love to hear all about your experience making marshmallows, or any candy! Please comment below, and tell me about it.

Thank you for visiting A Homespun Country Life!

~Kerstin

One thought on “Caramel Swirl Marshmallows

Leave a Reply

