Homemade Marshmallow Cream

DSCN3318

One day last summer, when I happened to be the only person home, I wanted to make something crazy. Like, something that I had never made before and that seemed impossible to make. I already had marshmallows down pat, but marshmallow cream still seemed too experimental for me. I mean, really, three egg whites? And you don’t directly cook them? It sounded kind of… gross.

DSCN3326

Lucky for me (and Elisabeth and Gabrielle, because they love this stuff!), I decided to try this recipe from A Farmgirl’s Dabbles. Sometimes we eat it plain, with a spoon, but I like eating it with ice cream, or swirling it with creamy peanut butter and spreading it on graham crackers.

DSCN3331

I’ve made it several times, but most recently I added color. In honor of the most pink holiday of the year, I tinted it an adorable shade of pink by adding just a dab of red gel food coloring.

DSCN3339

For anyone who is concerned about eating raw egg white, I researched it, and found that egg whites cook (or set) between 144 and 149 degrees F. The corn syrup part of the recipe boils until it reaches 240 degrees F., so when it is added to the whipped egg whites, it should cook any bacteria, leaving you the fluffy texture from the eggs. Also, as far as I know, no one has become ill from eating my marshmallow cream. 😉 However, please use your best judgment in making and eating it.

DSCN3360

Have you tried making marshmallow cream? I love talking marshmallows (although I’m not an expert by any means), and I would love to hear about your experience making candy, especially any tips or suggestions that you have for me. Leave a comment to let me know.

Thank you for visiting A Homespun Country Life!

~Kerstin

Leave a Reply

