Blueberry Pies for the Fourth

DSCN7086

Usually when we make pies, all of us girls work on it together. Mom mixes the pastry, I roll out the crusts, and everyone helps with the filling. But this time I decided to tackle the project on my own. Blueberry pies, with star cut-outs to make them extra patriotic! My crust turned out decent; of course, it will probably never be as perfect as Mom’s crust. *sigh*  Maybe someday I’ll at least get close to it though!

 

DSCN7064

The filling was perfect: not too sweet or runny, but with no “cornstarch” flavor. Quite excellent, if I may say so.

The blueberry pie with crumb topping was voted as the favorite. I think that’s because of the extra sweetness from the brown sugar/butter/oats mixture. In a few places, the edge of the crust was a little.. er.. rough. So I used an leftover scrap of pastry and cut out little stars to cover the not-so-pretty spots.

 

DSCN7059

I love how the crumb topping gives the pie a rustic yet almost elegant finish.

 

DSCN7082

For the double-crust pie, I dotted a bit of milk onto the crust and sprinkled sugar over the milk. It browned beautifully and had a hint of sparkle from the sugar.

 

Thank you for visiting A Homespun Country Life!

~Kerstin

 

 

Leave a Reply

