Chocolate Cupcakes Topped with Red Chocolate Frosting

DSCN5790DSCN5791DSCN5802

Ahhh, these cupcakes. I was looking forward all day to making them and I knew exactly how they should be–perfect. Well, it didn’t work that way 😉

It was suppose to be a simple, fun project but it turned out to be rather frustrating. First the batter was too thick (I added too much flour) and then I couldn’t get the right color of pink frosting (I wanted a light pink frosting, but I messed up on the dye. In the end, I mixed some cocoa powder in and got this reddish color.) If it wasn’t for the white pearls which help the cupcake’s appearance, and the fact that the cupcakes taste so delicious, I wouldn’t be writing about them!

I used this chocolate cake recipe. It is our favorite chocolate cake recipe–truly the BEST. It made about two dozen cupcakes; each pan took maybe twenty minutes to bake. I made the frosting from a cream cheese base…but lets not talk about the frosting because it isn’t the color I had in mind.

The cupcakes are quite rich, but it is hard to stop at one. I definitely want to try making them again, so I hope my family eats them up fast!

 

Thank you for visiting A Homespun Country Life!

Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

