Egg Shell Planters

DSCN6818DSCN6742DSCN6733DSCN6746DSCN6818

This post has been a few weeks in the making, but I am finally sharing it with you  🙂 Mom saw this idea of egg shell planters on another blog, and I couldn’t wait to try it this spring!

To make the egg planters, I cut the tops off raw eggs and poured the eggs into a mixing bowl. (We made scrambled eggs that night for supper) Then I boiled the eggshells  to sanitize them, dried them off, and set them aside until I was ready to plant.

I was so excited to plant seeds! The first ones that I wanted to plant were green and white onions. When I took the carton of eggshells outside to fill them with soil, General thought the eggshells were treats for him 😉 He made sure they all got slobbered on!

I used a nail to make a drainage whole in the bottom of each shell before filling it with dirt and a few seeds. The onion seeds took only a few days to sprout, and they are growing very fast. I think I will have to transplant them into other containers, since we have about two more months until we can actually plant outside.

The eggshell planters were so fun to make, and I will definitely make more to plant zinnias in.

 

Thank you for visiting A Homespun Country Life!

~Elisabeth

One thought on “Egg Shell Planters

Leave a Reply

